Book Comparison in Synopsis


ramblings12One thing that will get me to turn away from a book faster than a swarm of tracker jackers is the comparison to a popular book in the synopsis. I’m sorry but if your synopsis starts off with, “For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey” or “If you loved Twilight than you’ll love this”, you’re not going to get me to read your book. Not because of my thoughts on those books but because of the fact that you need to sell your book by riding the coattails of another. If you feel the need to add another book’s title into your synopsis it makes me wonder if the story is 1) original at all and 2) so bad that you need to name drop in order to get people interested in it.

releaseme

Maybe it’s just me and I’m being extremely harsh but when I’m looking for a book, I’m looking for something new to read. If I wanted to read the same story over and over again, I’d pluck one of my favorite books from my shelves and read that. Lord knows I’ve read them about ten times now. I mean, you’ve worked hard on that book, be proud of it and showcase the beauty within. Don’t go comparing it to something else. That’s like me saying “People always tell me that I look like Beyonce.”  *For the record that’s a lie. I’m short, pale and all my junk is in my gut. So, that comparison couldn’t be farther from the truth.*

LB

All I’m saying is, if it’s not fan fiction, don’t put comparisons to other books in your synopsis. Be original. Make your story speak for itself.

WWLs

 

What are your views on comparing other titles and/or authors in a book’s synopsis?

kRISTIN

One Thought on “Book Comparison in Synopsis

  1. Kristin@Blood,Sweat and Books on 22 January, 2014 at 8:15 am said:

    I definitely agree with this. It seems literally like every Dystopian says for fans of The Hunger Games just like every romance used to compare its story to Twilight. Its frustrating because you go into the read with a tainted view of how events should unfold rather than just enjoying it as something new and fresh.

Leave a Reply

Post Navigation